My Style, 3 Ways.

I style my outfits based on my mood & my obsessions, but it’s the accessories that define the look.

I can’t help but #humblebrag about how awesome our weather is right now. It was about 60 degrees when I shot the look below on Saturday night. I’m wearing one of my newest obsessions, a thrifted INC blouse from Reno. I adore this shirt! Being short-waisted usually means ixnay on the crop knots, but thanks to the vertical stripes on the shirt I can break the rules a little bit. Another obsession, the fringe skirt, is a $5 steal from Jeremy’s in Berkeley and pairing them with black tights and boots creates an illusion of length. Adding the pink blazer was inspired by Vogue’s ’92 story “Breaking Away”; I think pink, black and white has this je ne sais quoi. To keep myself in a more casual realm, I added the beanie and backpack.

20140126-161204.jpg
Beanie: Urban Outfitters Blazer: Forever 21 Chain: St. Thomas Blouse: thrift Skirt: Jeremy's Tights: Amazon Boots: Zara Bag: thrift Scarf: Missoni

My work has a pretty lax dress code, but one of the few things I can’t wear is ripped jeans. I have only two pairs and if the weather allows it, I am wearing one of them on any given weekend day. I’ve had this pair longer than I can even remember. Their flares are great for a pear like me, helping to even out my hips.  I like to pair the jeans with pointed flats, giving the slightest illusion of length to my 5’3″ frame. The big black shirt has been a staple in my closet for the last four years. It’s just so amazingly soft and the v-neck helps draw attention away from the waist. The floral bomber is my new casual comfort warmth and I love it with my floppy hat. Adding a hat is my favorite way to give my style more moxie .

20140126-161220.jpg
Hat: Forever 21 Sunglasses: Topshop Bomber: Zara Shirt: 14 Fifty-Seven Jeans: thrift Shoes: Marc by Marc Jacobs Bag: Rebecca Minkoff

Weekdays are my most experimental days. On Monday, I didn’t mean to channel Karl Lagerfeld, it just kind of happened. I wanted to try a sleeker look with these amazing bell bottoms. You know, something not so boho. So, I went with the turtle neck and blazer after being inspired by a Bianca Jagger photo.  I then thought, “This would be cool with a bow.” (I am infatuated with pussy bows and I want my generation to be into the bajillion ways to tie a scarf like my mom’s generation was.) It wasn’t until after I put on my go-to glasses that I realized I’m like a young Karl.  The slicked back pompadour further lends itself to Karl.

20140126-161230.jpgSunglasses: Ralph Lauren Blazer: BCBG Bow: cloth belt Turtleneck: American Apparel Watch(R): Casio Cuff(R): vintage Cuff(L): Alexandra Beth Pants: Blank Denim Shoes: Miista Bag: Tod's 

Photography: Cody Bratt

Tips or Quips?